august date night

Date Night! 2 Months in a row we’ve been able to get out for a bit & I couldn’t be more excited about it. This month not only do I get to cross off #1 on my 28 To Do List [go on a date once a month], but I get to cross off #19, too, which is to go on a picnic in Balboa Park.

Nate & I went to Balboa Park to watch a Mariachi band from Chula Vista, part of their Twilight in the Park Concert Series. We got there a little late, but the concert was so much fun! I have a thing for Mariachi bands & I [not so] secretly want Benjamin to play in one when he gets older. How cute would he be?! I know, I know…I’m crazy. We set up a little picnic on the lawn just behind the pavilion, where we were still able to see the stage, but still be able to hear each other talk.

I thought that since we were watching Mariachi’s we should also have Mexican food for dinner. I made posole using a Rachel Ray recipe that is super easy & Nate & I both love it.

It was great to just relax, catch up on all those little things we forget to talk about & just enjoy being with each other in one of our favorite places in San Diego.

When we got home I was still craving dessert so I made Apple Dumplings using a Pioneer Woman recipe [pretty much my favorite recipes right now]. They turned out AMAZING! We shared some with the Williams’ next door & they agreed with us just how good they were. I will be making more of these throughout this pregnancy for sure.

Can’t wait for date night next month…I think it’ll be hubby’s turn to plan it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

